Time Stands Still

Every once in a while I refer to the apartment of Kazu Makino and Amedeo Pace of Blonde Redhead when the topic of small apartment living comes up.  The beautiful couple and their home was featured in Domino Magazine a while back and I still think that it’s one of the best examples of how to make the most of very little space, mostly because you can easily get a sense of their personal style in what I assume to be a few hundred square feet.  Every dish, table cloth, mirror, etc. has a place in the apartment but doesn’t look super contrived or matchy-matchy.  It’s thought out, but not planned.  Vintage, but not washed out.  Lively, but also subtle.  Pretty, but not girlie.  And very. very. cool.  I think that most of us continue to aim for bigger and better spaces for numerous reasons, but we can also make the most of what we have.  This is actually something I have been thinking about on a more personal level lately.  Too often I find myself thinking about what’s next and how to get there rather than simply enjoying the present and making the most of what I have NOW. This apartment is just a little clip taken from the big picture.

gasl_blonde_redhead_01-749317

gasl_blonde_redhead_02

gasl_blonde_redhead_03

gasl_blonde_redhead_04

gasl_blonde_redhead_06

gasl_blonde_redhead_07

gasl_blonde_redhead_08

3 Comments

Filed under Interiors

3 responses to “Time Stands Still

  1. summercrobbins

    I couldn’t agree more. Not only do I love their tiny space, but I love the fact that they are bonafide rock stars who can obviously afford something more spacious and yet they choose to keep their small apartment, rather than up-sizing.

  2. That is one cool apartment, I agree with everything you said about it.

Leave a Reply

