A Visible Trace

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks as things have been building up with work.  This Saturday and Sunday Kneeland Co. will be taking part in the vintage show, A Current Affair, with Wren.  It will be textile and embellishment heaven and Melissa of Wren will be debuting her collaboration of bags with Clare Vivier.  If you live in LA and you love a well-edited selection of vintage, A Current Affair is for you.  Check it out if you can.  Monday I’m headed to San Francisco to work and eat my face off and hopefully find some time to lay in the park and have some tea at the Japanese Tea Garden, a favorite.  With all the exciting chaos comes inspiration, and I’ve been feeling inspired by all of the amazingness below.  I hope all of you have a great weekend and thanks for reading!  xo Joanna

I remember reading about Co last season and watching a beautiful video that was made for the debut of the LA-based clothing line comprised of luxurious knits and separates.  Co was started by film producer Stephanie Danan and screenwriter Justin Kern, and each collection is accompanied by a short film.  Both films for Fall 2011 and Spring 2012 feature French actress Elodie Bouchez, and I’ve watched both countless times and am totally mesmerized by the beauty.  The Spring 2012 short, filmed in Morocco and directed by Daft Punk’s Thomas Hangalter, has an Almodovar aesthetic that is slightly melodramatic, in the most tasteful way.  It’s set to a roaring classical number that gives a monumental feeling to the film, and of course I can’t help but want to wear everything that Elodie Bouchez is wearing.

One of the great things about fashion week is getting to see all of the creative ways that accessory designs showcase their product.  I thought the Anndra Neen presentation was exquisite, shown in this wood sculpture shaped as a horse.

I’ve developed a serious addiction to Pinterest.  The kind where I give myself 15 minutes to pin photos to my boards while I’m laying in bed at night and end up spending 2 1/2 hours doing so.  I kind of love it.  While checking out boards of my Pinterest peeps I came across a mind blowing photo posted by Cheryl (who also has this amazing blog) of a model turned around wearing an insanely gorgeous knit vest.  I found out it was by a label called CorrellCorrell, run by twin sisters Daphne and Vera Correll who create handmade knitwear.  It’s so very cool, and above are a few pieces from their website.

Another reason to love fall besides wearing better clothes: new art!  I’ve been dying to visit the LACMA and take in Asco: Elite of the Obscure, A Retrospective, 1972-1987.  Asco was a Chicano performance and conceptual art group formed in East LA by a tight-knit group of artists in the early ’70s.  They used art to respond to political and social conflict in Los Angeles and beyond, and they are finally being celebrated after twenty plus years since their demise.

Another book to add to my wish list: La Maison by Koto Bolofo.  Bolofo is the first photographer to have had unlimited access to the super secret workshops of Hermès, and this book is comprised of 11 volumes covering 7 years of work.  The photos explore the craftsmanship of the luxury goods house including the manufacturing of saddles, silk scarves, the Kelly bag, shoes, perfume and more.

3 Comments

Filed under A Visible Trace

3 responses to “A Visible Trace

  1. SG

    So inspiring! I too am excited to see the show at LACMA and La Maison looks like a must have like right now- steidl is an obsession. Hope your trip to SF is amazing and look forward to hearing about your adventures.

  2. A Current Affair sounds like such fun, I wish I could make it! You’re going to have a blast in SF and I look forward to reading all about it. How cool is Asco? Cannot wait to see this.

  3. A Current Affair sounds amazing – wish I lived in LA! and I always find the best things on Cheryl’s pinboards and blogs as well ;)
    Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

