Until Next Time

This is my last post dedicated to Mexico City, at least until my next trip there!  One of the things on my must-see list was the Museo Soumaya, owned by billionaire Carlos Slim.  Slim’s son-in-law, Fernando Romero, was the architect behind the museum covered in 16,000 hexagonal aluminum plates that stands out amongst the traffic infested streets and shopping mall.  It’s a sight to be seen, to say the least, and I was quite impressed at not only the size of the museum but the size of the art collection inside.  You take the elevator to the top floor and wind your way down ramps to be greeted by some of the most famous, prolific artwork in the world.  The top floor houses Rodin and Dalí sculptures, many of which took my breath away.  Dalí is an artist who captivates me and I had never seen any of his artwork in person, so to take in these life size sculptures was pretty mind boggling.  If you have the chance to visit Mexico City, don’t skip out on this fantastic museum that is free to the public.  It will totally make your day, I promise.  Museo Soumaya and Salvador Dalí sculptures below:

The floor filled with Rodin and Dalí

Caballo Montado por el Tiempo (Horse Saddled with Time)

Perfil de Tiempo (Profile of Time)

El Elefante Espacial (Space Elephant)

Alicia en el Pais de las Maravillas (Alice in Wonderland)

Bailarina Daliniana (Dalinian Dancer)

La Mujer en Llamas (Woman Aflame)

48 Comments

Filed under Art, Lifestyle, Travel

48 responses to “Until Next Time

  1. Joanna, I absolutely loved the whole series! I never had a particular desire to visit Mexico City but after seeing it through your eyes I would love to go- thanks for sharing!

    • keepfeelingjoanna

      Thank you so much! : ) I am so happy I was able to share my adventure with you. Mexico City is so special and I hope you get the chance to visit!

  2. SG

    Wow… that building looks amazing. I really like Rodin and just thinking about his sculptures makes me want to pop over to Norton Simon.

  3. All of it was beautiful and intimate, thank you for sharing a look into your family, travels, and discovery, I loved it all, a beautiful salute to the city!

  4. Incredible! Your Mexico City posts were so much fun and they’ve brought me so much inspiration. I cannot wait to go!

  5. Stunning artwork — thank you for sharing!
    :)

  6. Jesús Herrera

    Hi. been born and raised in Mexico City, your post made me feel very proud. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

    Soumaya Museum is certainly impressive, just keep in mind that is only one of the many interesting places to visit here.

  7. Awesome blog!!! And the photos are great!! I’m from Mexico and Sumaya is a real fantstic museum, I hope be there again soon :) Happy year

  8. Great Blog, I love Mexico and the photo’s remind me of what I am missing.

  9. I like places like this. Haven’t been to Mexico City, but this makes me want to go. Thanks for sharing.

  10. Thank you – I love Dali and this museum sounds stunning – I saw some smaller Dali sculptures in London a couple of years ago but in a much darker environment. These are great pictures and the detail shots are quite inspirational.
    Well done

  11. What an amazing piece of architecture. Great name for a blog by the way.

  12. What a stimulating interesting blog. I’ve never seen photos of the inside of a Mexican Art Museum. Beautiful work.

    Ronnie

  13. Spectacular! It inspires me to visit. Thanks.

  14. LadyT

    Incredible artwork! What a great experience… thank you for capturing and sharing! Congrats on being FP

  15. Very nice. I never expected to learn that Mexico City is that nice. Thank you for the lesson.

    Val

    http://valentinedefrancis.wordpress.com

  16. The architecture. The art work. Amazing. Thanks for the tour

  17. wooww!! amazing pictures, i really think the pieces are so interesting.. :-D.. thanks for sharing

  18. Red Toenails

    Alice in Wonderland was simply beautiful.

  19. Ooo I really like the ballerina’s dress. Since this post got FP’ed I’m hoping Forever 21 will see it and make a knockoff.

    Awesome post!

  20. SJD Art

    There is a great Dalí museum near St. Petersburg, Florida. If you get the chance, I definitely recommend it…. Nice post!

  21. I got married there a year ago! xoxoxo

  22. Brilliant. I’d love to have had a look myself. I especially love the dali, “time” sculpture

  23. sorry, i meant Profile of Time of course.

  24. Wow, that looks amazing! I’d love to see it for myself someday.
    Thanks for sharing this beautiful photos!

  25. I was fascinated by form of the museum and also by the art collection.

    Thank you for sharing through your post!

    Have a wonderful 2012!

    Sincerely,
    Mbconsulting

  26. La Mujer en Llamas interests me!
    Wanna have that one, lol

  27. Thanks for giving readers a peek into Mexico. For armchair traveler , like me, it is fascinating.

  28. Kim

    Great Photos. Thanks for sharing.

  29. Mexico City is one of my favorites…hope you saw Opera bar, the Museo Franz Mayer and Frida’s house. I never tire of the DF. Thanks for introducing me to a museum I didn’t know about.

  30. energizeyourlifetime

    I wanted to thank you for this wonderful read!! I absolutely enjoying each and every little bit of. Thanks http://energizeyourlifetime.com/

  31. Thank you for this great post. I am a museum freak and until I visit the Museo Soumaya, this blog will do! Well done.

  32. Hello..A beautiful picture. The carving of a female singer..set forth so..very nice..Peace Tony

  33. Dee

    Wow, these photos are magnificent. I didn’t even know those forms of art existed, but they are mesmerizing and beautiful. It must have been moving to see in person.

  34. Constance V. Walden

    Interesting pieces of art. Thanks for sharing this. Connie

    http://7thandvine.wordpress.com/

  35. Fabulous post. I live in Mexico City and I have to thank you for such lovely descriptions and for not holding back on your admiration and surprise to find these treasures here…It’s something we, as mexicans, feel proud of, to have this art among us free to admire…the Impressionist collection is also a must see…Mr. Slim has made culture accesible to the common man!!

  36. Chris Riddell

    Very cool stuff. I’ve always been a fan of Dali as well. I have prints of four of his paintings that I will keep forever.

  37. the museum sounds like a worthwhile visit!

  38. Message in a Bottle Hunter

    Amazing!

  39. What beautiful pieces of art and photographs! The Dali clock has always been one of my favorites.

  40. So beautiful! I love the Alice in Wonderland sculpute and the melting clock.

  41. clockinlove

    wow, i dont know about you all but i certainly wanna see these in real life…good work and good image capture

  42. Your photos are beautiful. I really love art and you captured the heart of this place so well.

  43. This is amazing. Fascinated me too. Thank you for sharing with us, I am so glad to meet with you. Congratulations. With my love, nia

Leave a Reply

