Vintage Series, Play It As It Lays, Part Two

I’m about to hop on a plane to Mexico City for work and to visit my family with my good friend Heather.  I couldn’t be more psyched.  Before I leave, I thought it would be appropriate to post Part Two of my Vintage Series that was inspired by the film and book, Play It As It Lays.  One of my favorite things about the film is all the crazy amazing caftans Maria Wyeth Lang (played by Tuesday Weld) wore; a total embodiment of ’70s Malibu.  This is one of my favorites from my vintage collection, found at a flea market a couple of years ago.  It’s from India and made of silk, and has been block printed and hand painted.  I really love the geometric print and the ochre color, and I couldn’t help but pair it with a shocking pink necklace by De Petra.  I have to give a big thank you to my sweet friend Jennifer for her photography skills.  Thanks for reading, and I’ll be back in a few days with some photos from Mexico City! xo Joanna

12 Comments

Filed under Vintage Series

12 responses to “Vintage Series, Play It As It Lays, Part Two

  1. Play it as it Lays!! Translation: this is pretty!!!

  2. beautiful post! have a great trip!

  3. mary kathleen

    really love this one… the colors of the caftan paired with the necklace are a lovely combo. have fun in mexico city! slightly jealous, wish i was there! ;)

  4. Charlotte

    love that pink and gold…

  5. Wow. Love that dress and necklace combo! Have fun in Mexico!

  6. stefani greenwood

    everything G said! Looking forward to posts on your adventures and special moments in Mexico.

  7. Love the pattern and colour combo! And I really like your vintage series – more more more!

  8. summer

    You are so gorgeous! Love this!

  9. Beautiful caftan! Love the necklace with it.

  10. It is one of my favorite books by one of my favorite authors. I had no idea there was a movie! I must see it. I love the caftan and jewelry. Divine! We still need to get together sometime. : )

Leave a Reply

