Pasta Dish

While I was in Mexico City I was talking to my aunt about food and recipes and the word “pasta” came up.  I am a lover of pasta, as is my husband Darryl, and I’m always alternating between 4 or 5 pasta recipes in the kitchen.  So, I asked my aunt Siobhan if she had any favorite pasta dishes that she could recommend and she told me about an uncooked recipe that was actually given to her by one of my other aunts, Jennifer.  When she spoke of the instructions and ingredients, I immediately fell in love as it sounded simple and fresh.  I fell even more in love when I made it for a dinner guest last week, and I’ve now added it to my pasta rotation.  It consists of seven ingredients: fusilli pasta, one block of camembert cheese, tomatoes, basil, garlic, olive oil and sea salt.  With the exception of the pasta, all of the ingredients sit uncooked together in a bowl for about half a day (do not refrigerate).  When dinner time arrives, cook the pasta and then mix all of the ingredients together.  The cheese melts into the pasta instantly, creating the most creamy and delectable flavor that’s kicked up a notch by the ingredients that have been marinating together all day.  It’s divine, peeps.  Last week I served it alongside grilled asparagus and a kale salad with cannellini beans, artichoke hearts, parmesan and lemon juice.  My ideal meal.  (Note: Fusilli can be substituted with any round pasta such as penne or rigatoni, and the camembert can be substituted with brie, depending on which flavor you prefer.  I also eyeballed the measurements, as I didn’t have the recipe written down, but a 16 oz. bag of pasta does well with 3 tomatoes and a handful of basil.  I love garlic, so I go a little crazy with it).

8 Comments

Filed under Lifestyle

8 responses to “Pasta Dish

  1. saved in recipes folder- looks delicious!

  2. Judie

    This is on my menu for a Labor Day Picnic…
    It sounds oh so yummy!

  3. This looks so good! Thanks for sharing this delicious looking and easy recipe!

  4. mary kathleen

    Joanna, yummm! When we meet up one day eventually in Mexico, I request that you and your aunt make me this, okay? ;)

  5. I make a similar raw tomato pasta sauce in the summertime; however, the idea of adding Camembert is just brilliant! I’ll certainly try it the next time I bring some tomatoes home from the market.

  6. uhhhhhhhhm. this looks *pretty* good.
    ;)

  7. Might make tonight! want want want

Leave a Reply

