I remember when the Beautiful Losers art show happened (still happening, actually, in other parts of the world) and I didn’t go. Not because I didn’t want to, but I guess I just never got around to it. Lame excuse, but true. That’s one of my recent regrets, and to be quite honest I would have rather experienced that show than Takashi Murakami’s at the MOCA. Anyway, I got excited when I was invited to a press screening for the Beautiful Losers movie and I jumped at the chance. I don’t even know where to begin. It was the most beautiful depiction of youth and art and everything that happens when you’re trying to be creative. It was a reminder of why creative people do what they do, whether it be painting, writing, drawing, or whatever it is that helps them understand their world and its surroundings. I was so inspired I cried. It’s about a group of artists including Mike Mills, Jo Jackson, Barry McGee, Ed Templeton, Margaret Kilgallen and others who found common ground in the 90’s, coming from the DIY world of art/punk/skateboarding/ and created art that communicated to outsiders. The director, Aaron Rose, is an amazing human being and I get the feeling that he’s one of those people that you meet and you never forget.  I’ve always followed his work, but it became much more clear to me what kind of a person he is after seeing Beautiful Losers. One of the things I’ll always remember from the film was him talking about being forced to shut down his gallery in NYC back in the day, saying he felt like it was the end of his work and that he didn’t want to start over. He went on to say that he realized “starting over is like editing all the bad stuff out.” I love that.

Barry McGee Installation

Margaret Kilgallen

Jo Jackson

Mike Mills

Beautiful Losers Show