I’ve never been stung by a bee. I should knock on wood to keep it that way. Growing up in Texas and spending summers swimming in my grandparents pool, there were HUGE bees everywhere. I’m talking gigantic bumble bees that looked like they could bite your head off, or inject enough poison to kill you. I was terrified of them and of their fellow stingers, the wasps. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve come to appreciate all critters big and small, even if they do bite. I’m one of those girls that can watch Planet Earth and Blue Planet everyday and still continue to marvel at what exists on earth. Today I stumbled upon photos from an exhibition going on in NYC titled “A New Hive” and was completely mesmerized by what I saw. The exhibition, set up like a cabinet of curiosities, made me want to redecorate my apartment. And, when I read about the exhibition I was even more impressed. “A New Hive” is a New York City non-profit arts organization that was created to help save honeybees. According to the organization, “honeybees have mysteriously gone missing from their hives all over the world. As of Spring of 2008 nearly a third of U.S. 2.4 million bee colonies have been lost — tens of billions of bees, according to an estimate from the Apiary Inspectors of America. Beekeepers report entire hives abandoned by adult bees who uncharacteristically leftbehind food and bee larvae, the young that develop inside the hive.” The scientific community has named the phenomenon “Colony Collapse Disorder” (CCD).

When I read this I felt so uneducated, but I also felt proud that I stumbled upon something so interesting. You don’t often see people take an issue and turn it into something creative to educate, entertain, and inspire. What I thought was going to be an “Interiors” post turned out to be even more. These photos were taken from http://www.refinery29.com/ and http://www.anewhive.blogspot.com/. Check out the “A New Hive” blog to learn more. And don’t forget to save the bees.