It’s fashion week.  We all know that.  And I’ve already got three crushes: Alexander Wang, Daughters by Obedient Sons, and Karen Walker.  Alex Wang proved yet again that he’s got the downtown girl figured out.  Inspired by Miami Vice, his collection was chock-full of body conscious dresses fit for a scandalous night on the town with Don Johnson and company.  There was also plenty of loose-fiiting sportswear, my favorite being the cropped tee and high waisted short shorts- perfect for a ride on a high speed boat chase with D.J.  But what got me most excited about the collection were the colors.  Pastels and black?  Who would have thought?  It’s making me love the 80’s.

Moving on, Daughters by Obedient Sons.  Hot off their nomination for the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund, the  husband-and-wife team took womenswear to another level.  It wasn’t quite the level of cult status, but this beautiful collection took them from under-the-radar status to “of the moment”.  Think Little House on the Prairie (for the colors) with a subdued modernity (the clothes), both perfectly joined to create menswear-inspired pieces for women.  Palazzo pants, a suit that had Laura Ashley written all over it, tailored blazers, and buttoned-to-there linen tops had me intrigued.

I must have e.s.p.  Inspired by the cult film Holy Mountain (see previous post) and the Yearning for Zion polygamist ranch, Karen Walker’s collection was whimsical, boyish, and a little creepy.  I favored the boyish looks and the Holy Mountain hats.  Cuffed pants, crazy graphic tees, button-ups, boxy tops, and two-tone oxfords could definitely get me through next season.  What I love most about K.W. is that season after season, she designs whatever she feels like designing without listening to the masses but still manages to be on point.  I can only hope she continues to do just that.

Alexander Wang – Images from Style.com

Daughters By Obedient Sons

Karen Walker