Last week I went to the Hollywood Bowl to see the greatest show of the decade: Cat Power/Spiritualized/Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds.  It was my third time to see Cat Power, my second time to see Spiritualized, and my first time to see Nick Cave.  I don’t even know how to begin to describe how transcending of an experience it is to watch Jason Pierce from Spiritualized perform.  The first time I was blown away, he played with an orchestra and 3 backup singers.  It was so beautiful I cried through half the show.  It was an epic night, to say the least.  Last week was no exception.  When “Soul on Fire” started to play, a girl behind me said it reminded her of Bon Jovi.  I thought that was pretty awesome.  However, I must say that the highlight of the evening was watching Nick Cave totally own the stage, strutting his stuff in a suit like no one else can.  The man’s got style, no doubt.  His gold medallion said it all.  The crowd was full of energy with almost everyone standing up through his whole performance.  Two guys sitting in front of me that must have been in their 50’s were rocking out hard and kept yelling “Bring it Home.”  Good stuff. They killed it at the end when they closed with “Stagger Lee”- one my favorite songs of all time.

Here’s a clip of Nick Cave performing “Call Upon the Author.”  The Bad Seeds were seriously shredding during this song.  I wish I could go back in time and feel it all over again.