I discovered these images online from  the Yale University Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library.  If you have never checked it out, I highly suggest doing so.  It will blow your mind with rare, beautiful, and ancient images.  I spent an hour browsing today and I found some really cool stuff.  Take a look, and also check out their blog Room 26 Cabinet of Curiosities.

This is the cover of an issue of Broom, a magazine that originated in 1922 that was filled with art and literature.  I’m really into the black & red constructivism.

broom

This is from a lobby card collection of Western silent films.  The Covered Wagon looks like it would have been dramatic, right?  I’m going to have to do some research on this – I have actually never heard of a “Western” silent film.  Pretty great.

coveredwagon

I love very old American Indian art.  This painting is titled Deer in Forest.

deerinforest

I couldn’t stop staring at this portrait of Elizabeth Eyre de Canus.  She was an American writer, artist, and Art Deco furniture designer.  And, she was married to a French writer (but was bisexual) and ran around with the likes of Ernest Hemingway and Bernard Berenson.

elizabeth

This is a drawing of an Indian horse dance from 1938.  I can’t help but think of the artist Matt Leines when I look at this.  Very cool.

horsedance

From a magazine titled Zritel that was published in 1905 about Russian graphic art & The Revolution of 1905.

1074946

So beautiful.  This picture depicts the transformations and life cycle of the silkworm.  1733.  John Derian would be inspired.

silkworm