I have always loved heather grey anything.  In junior high I found a tiny boy’s sweatshirt in heather grey at a thrift store and I still wear it to this day.  It’s tattered and slightly faded and it can take on so many different personalities.  I’m happy to see all of the heather grey sweatpants and shorts this spring.  I like a look that’s not too precious and pieces that are ideal for mixing and matching and for me, it’s all about the sweatpant.  In constant wardrobe rotation: a see-thru tee, a fitted blazer or army jacket, sweats worn scrunched at the calf, Emma Cook lace-up boots or Comme Il Faut velvet and metallic heels.  Isabel Marant’s sweats for spring are amazing as are Alexander Wang’s, but I chose to spend money on a pair of cream linen/silk sweats with back pockets by Corpus. Not heather grey, but I couldn’t resist the amazing fabric and the pockets.  Solid purchase.  I’ve just checked out the Resort 2010 shows and am now pining for the heather grey harem pant.  Rag & Bone and Helmut Lang are on to something good.

01m-1Rag & Bone.  I love the legging/gym pant look of these. (Style.com)

11mHelmut Lang.  Scrunched. (Style.com)

9Isabel Marant

Picture 1Alexander Wang

olivia2Perfection.  Photo from Garance Dore‘.