My friend Chelito called me last weekend  to tell me that he had an extra ticket to see the legendary Grace Jones perform at the Hollywood Bowl on my birthday.  I was so excited and honored that he would ask me to join him, but it honestly didn’t fully sink in until she came onstage.  She is a total glamazon and there is no one that can perform or sing like her.   The woman commands the stage, and let me just add that she does not age. She is 61 and has the most perfect legs I’ve ever seen .  She had a costume change for nearly every song, and the costumes themselves were their own show.  Eiko Ishioka (Bram Stoker’s Dracula, Cirque du Soleil: Varekai) was the genius behind her various costumes which included a bright red origami-like gown, a silk jacket dress with a long train of fabric that blew from behind her, a white bodysuit complete with all-over slits, hats and headpieces that would have made Stephen Jones envious, and much more.  I feel so lucky to have seen Grace Jones perform for the very first time at the Hollywood Bowl, and to have witnessed her first performance after 20 years.  All images from CyanaTrendLand.

grace-jones-hollywood-bowl-11-600x718

grace-jones-hollywood-bowl-18-600x741-1

grace-jones-hollywood-bowl-5-600x660

grace-jones-hollywood-bowl-12-600x799

grace-jones-hollywood-bowl-7-600x651

grace-jones-hollywood-bowl-17-600x667-1