This editorial was shot by Craig McDean for a 2002 issue of W.  I have held onto it for a while and I couldn’t think of a better time to post it than now as I’ve been thinking what exactly it is that I like about fashion, because honestly, I sometimes wonder. It’s a crazy, self-absorbed world.  When I look at this, I get inspired all over again just by laying eyes on Nicolas Ghesquière’s metal and silk patchwork creation for Balenciaga.  It’s amazing.  A little bohemian, a little futuristic, and a whole lot of sexy.  I would love to own the top and the skirt, but I’d settle for either one.  As for the perfectly unkempt model, I am not sure who she is but she has an earthy, natural glow that I wish I’d see more of in models today.  I adore the happy props of rainbows, clouds, and horses – possibly inspired by the Julie Verhoeven for Louis Vuitton bag in the washed out photo?

wmag1

wmag2

wmag3

wmag4

wmag5