I was watching one of my favorite movies, Reality Bites, a couple of weeks ago and couldn’t stop thinking about what an amazing couple Ethan Hawke and Winona Ryder made in one of the greatest slacker films of my generation.  First of all, Ethan Hawke is just ridiculously gorgeous and pulls off the narcissistic, lazy,” screw the whole world” character perfectly. Winona Ryder’s grunge meets tomboy look is so “now” that it’s a little scary.  Those were her waif days.  Reality Bites got me daydreaming about other “perfect” movie couples, which in turn got me daydreaming about couples who I am mesmerized by every time I see a photo of them together, or read about the way they share(d) their lives.  And then there are those that I have no idea who they are, but they look so ideal together that I start to paint a picture in my head of their lifestyle and romanticize their relationship.  On the outside they look perfect, but beneath the surface is a history and a story, some bad and some good.  Sure, Troy and Lelaina pretended to hate each other and acted as if they were complete opposites, but deep down they shared a common ground and a whole lot of pent up love.  The end of Reality Bites still gets me every time.  Below, some of my favorite couples from the past and present.

06808Ethan Hawke and Winona Ryder in Reality Bites

4f47142f131bActor Michael Pitt and model Jamie Bochert

birkinserge1Serge Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin

before-sunriseEthan Hawke and Julie Delpy in Before Sunrise

couple 52Unknown couple.  I can’t remember where I found this, but how amazing are they?

BE062797Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo