Wednesday night was one of the highlights of my year.  I still have a buzz from seeing the legendary 70s folk singer Linda Perhacs perform for the very first time.  I was completely blown away by her positive message about sharing and connecting with others to create magic in this world and her encouragement of creativity.  Her psychedelic folk album, Parallelograms, extends far above and beyond its time, continuing to influence past and present generations with its meditative and exploratory sounds and lyrics.  The Los Angeles web-radio collective known as dublab partnered with REDCAT to celebrate and pay tribute to Perhacs by inviting musicians to perform songs from Parallelograms. I had no idea what to expect and I was completely blown away by the creative forces that joined together to make the evening so incredibly special.  Hecuba, LA Ladies’ Choir, Mia Doi Todd, and Crystal Antlers were just some of the musicians that took to the stage as they performed alongside some trippy visuals by Maximilla Lukacs, Daft Punk, and other visual artists.  There was so much beauty to behold that I’m pretty sure a little piece of me melted inside.  Thank you to my sweet friend, Mitzi, for the invitation.  To hear one of Linda’s gems, Chimacum Rain, check out Vanessa Bruno’s short film featuring Lou Doillon.

IMG_4328Linda and her band

IMG_4330

IMG_4322I really loved this visual.  I wasn’t able to catch the artist’s name, unfortunately.

IMG_4335This was part of a short film by Maximilla Lukacs.  It featured a girl climbing rocks on a beach in nothing but a sheer dress in the most beautiful colors.  It actually reminded me of an old Chloè ad.

IMG_4357The oh-so-lovely LA Ladies’ Choir.  A gorgeous rainbow of beauty.

LindaPerhacsThe cover of Linda Perhacs – Parallelograms