Ami Sioux, a photographer based in Paris, just released her second book in a series appropriately titled, °Books.  This release, Paris 48°49N2°29E, follows the pages of Reykjavik 64°08N21°54W and is the ultimate city explorer guide.  Fifty residents of Paris, some known to Ami and some unknown, were asked to hand-draw a map of their favorite, most personal and significant spots in the city. She then followed each map and took a photograph of each location as shown below, creating a sort of voyeuristic sensibility. I love this concept for different reasons, mainly because I enjoy exploring what is unknown to me.  But I also love it because it reminds me of having a pen pal that you haven’t met yet, but you somehow know them on a very personal level just by exchanging words on paper.  This whole project is crazily romantic.  Looking at the maps, they remind me of one of my favorite books, Stairway Walks in Los Angeles. It’s an out-of-print book that my husband discovered and it’s the ultimate explorer’s guide to Los Angeles.  Filled with maps that take you on beautiful stairway journeys throughout various neighborhoods in LA, this gem is a must for anyone who likes taking long walks and big hikes.  All of the stairways are public – “an urban legacy devoted to pedestrianism.”  The views alone are breathtaking, but the architecture and nature really make me appreciate a city that can be so vast and overwhelming.

ModifiedJPG1ModifiedJPG21ModifiedJPG12ModifiedJPG19ModifiedJPG50ModifiedJPG31