My bookshelves are overflowing, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting to hoard more.  The newest titles to make it to my wish list: Henry Darger by Klaus Biesenbach; Maison Martin Margiela published by Rizzoli; The Marchesa Casati – Portraits of a Muse written by the directors of The Casati Archives; The Velvet Underground – New York Art from Rizzoli; Self-Portrait in a Velvet Dress, Frida’s Wardrobe published by Chronicle Books; and Prada, conceived and edited by Miuccia Prada and Patrizio Bertelli.  Henry Darger is one of my favorite artists.  I’ve written about him here and am always interested in finding out more about his life and his artwork.  I recommend watching the documentary In the Realms of the Unreal – it sheds some light on his fascinating, although somewhat sad background.  Both the Margiela and Prada books rank high on my list due to the fact that I have a deep appreciation for the aesthetics of both designers and their ability to always design what they want and not cater to the masses, yet somehow manage to drive every fashion follower into a frenzy with their smart and highly conceptual clothing and accessories.  Marchesa Casati wasn’t your everyday heiress. Although she did serve as muse to many including Cecil Beaton and Jack Kerouac, she was very creative and held lavish parties, always dressing in elaborate, statement making attire.  She was also the hostess of the Ballets Russes and her influence can still be felt and seen today, most specifically in John Galliano’s creations and in the evening wear line, Marchesa.  Alice Ritter turned me onto the Frida Kahlo book (thanks, Alice!) and being that I regard her as one of the most prominent, feminist artists with amazing style to have ever lived, I am so interested to find out more about her wardrobe.  And I actually kind of wish I had a unibrow – something about hers was so sexy.  Lastly, The Velvet Underground – clearly one of the greatest bands of all time.  They are so fascinating to me and I can’t wait to devour that book.

Picture 1

41L4FnPpH0L._SS500_

Picture 2

51gfnHBHdGL._SS400_

0811863441_large

517o3N-4qLL._SS500_