Been very busy.  This time of year is bananas and right about now I am ready to jump on a plane and head to Texas to visit family and friends and eat my dad’s tamales.  It’s cold and rainy here in Los Angeles and I’m loving every minute of it, mostly because I get to stay indoors and get caught up on things that I’ve been neglecting the past couple of weeks, but geez I’m ready for a little vacation.  I went rummaging through some of my inspiration books today and got really excited when I found these pictures of a hairdresser’s shop in rural Goa.  It’s so incredibly authentic with woodwork inset with mirrors and paintings and framed prints of the owner’s favorite gods. It’s not precious in a stuffy, uncomfortable way, but rather in a sweet and endearing way.  You can feel the love in the place just by looking at the objects, especially the old photograph of the owner’s grandfather cutting hair.  As stated on the first page: Prints of Indian gods jostle with European landscapes, a naive frieze and vintage travel posters in this 19th-century hairdresser’s in rural Goa. Collected by three generations of village barbers, the assortment of objects bears witness to the region’s rich diversity of cultural influences.”

Taken from an issue of World of Interiors