I feel guilty for posting on a day when there are bigger things to talk about rather than art, like the tragedy in Haiti that is so hard to wrap my brain around.  But it’s good to engage in creative topics in crappy times like this, so here I go.  I found these images from Kay Nielsen‘s book, East of the Sun and West of the Moon. Nielsen was an illustrator, visual development artist, and art director who was heavily influenced by Art Nouveau and Japanese and Persian art.  He illustrated Hans Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales, Hansel and Gretel, and other stories from The Brothers Grimm and was known for using pastel colors to create a beauty that was yet to be seen during the time he was an illustrator.  He died of poverty in 1957. Some of these illustrations have an almost macabre feel to them, yet they are so serene and really portray a beautiful fairytale.  They truly are some of the most unique, detailed, and captivating illustrations I have ever seen.  I want to live in them.  Check out the Hollywood Animation Archive to see more amazing artwork.