For me, there are few things that are more satisfying than discovering something new.  New meaning something I’ve actually never seen before, or seen in a specific style.  Everyone’s perspective on “new” is different, which is part of what makes the creative world tick and move forward.  Salvador Dalí and the Surrealists are all “new” to me, in the sense that I’ve never really cared much for Surrealism until lately.  I feel like I get it now, or maybe my taste has just changed.  It’s probably a little of both.  Today I discovered someone new when I stumbled upon the work of Paule Marrot who was a French engraver, painter, and textile artist known for her use of pattern and color.  She first became a painter and then early in her career, the 1920s thru the 1950s to be specific, decided to focus on designing textiles.  Paule’s art is often linked to the Art Deco movement, which is apparent, but I also can’t help but see a slight hint of Asian influence in her textiles.  The birds perched on the trees remind me of a design you would see on a Chinese fan, and something about the seashells and the leaves reminds me of something that was in my grandparents house when I was little (their entire house was Asian-influenced) and I can’t help but love it.  To see more of Paule Marrot’s work, check out Natural Curiosities, another new discovery thanks to the lovely Karen and Sara behind Identical Eye.