I stumbled across these photos on Wanderlust, a blog with a caption that reads “Notes from a Global Nomad”, and of course I immediately became curious since the only thing I want to do is travel.  Guatemala is a special place.  When my husband and I first started dating we took a trip to Guate to visit my aunt and cousins in Panajachel in the Guatemalan Highlands.  It’s a pretty heavy trip to take with someone you first start dating, so I pretty much had mini panic attacks every day (!) until I realized that my travel companion was pretty awesome and shared a love for exploring and experiencing new things.  I guess that’s to be expected from someone who has been to 48 states and 30 plus countries.  I have some serious catching up to do.  Anyway, Guatemala is filled with colorful personalities and a culture that has spent years trying to break free from corruption, only to be constantly disappointed. The indigenous people do what they have to do to get by and they work hard every day for the bare necessities in life.  The men, women and children are always dressed in traditional clothing made by hand with the most insane attention to detail.  You walk the streets and drive along the cliffs just mesmerized by how amazing they look.  Their faces are brutally honest and it’s as if you can see the struggles that they have just by glancing at them.  I always think about our trip and am happy to have it filed away in my big box of memories.  These pictures make me nostalgic and yearn for a trip back to Guate.