There are a few websites that suck me in and allow me to get completely lost in amazement.  The NYPL website is one of them, more specifically the digital gallery that is available for perusing.  I found these Art Deco prints in the Ornament and Pattern category and am really enjoying dissecting them bit by bit.  What’s interesting to me is that the curvaceous lines and dramatic shapes are really want make it Art Deco.  This might be an obvious discovery, but I like that specific genres of art from way back when can easily be categorized, whereas now there are so many blends of different genres in modern art.  And modern or contemporary art today can be so hard to define because not much of it is super specific.  There are artists who do very specific work, of course, but I wouldn’t say it’s the norm. Specific or not specific, neither is right or wrong.  Just interesting.