My book club just finished reading Great Expectations. Believe it or not, it was a first time read for me.  Everyone seems to have read it in junior high or high school, but I guess I was too busy watching Heathers. After I read the book I had to of course watch the modern version of the movie with Ethan Hawke (love) and Gwyneth Paltrow (love).  I hadn’t watched it since it first came out and I had forgotten how amazing it is.  First of all, I have had a mild obsession with Ethan Hawke for quite some time.  And GP, well I mean, she is GP.  I loathe celebrity worship, but I secretly worship her.  Secondly, the scene (shown in the video below) where GP walks into Ethan Hawke’s hotel room and he starts to paint her as she bares everything is so. ridiculously. amazing.  And lastly, I have a mad crush on Jarvis Cocker of Pulp.  I had also forgotten that his song, Like a Friend, is the jam that’s playing as said ridiculously amazing scene is going down.  It’s one of my favorite Pulp songs (the build up! the lyrics!) and here it is below.  And, how can you resist Jarvis Cocker’s moves?