A couple of weeks ago my friend Charlotte and her husband Steve invited me over for brunch at their new house in Echo Park.  Charlotte is a shoe designer extraordinaire and an AMAZING cook.  The woman bakes her own bread and if she could I bet she would bake it everyday.  On the menu was fresh squeezed juice (courtesy of their new juicer), avocado toast and baked eggs, both inspired by Cafe’ Gitane in NYC.  To say I was blown away would be an understatement.  I couldn’t believe how easy and quick it was to make the meal, because it was so decadent and the presentation was superb.  I documented the process and thought I’d share, because most of you know how much I love food and how hard it rules my life.

Upon arrival I was served a cup of mint tea.

The coolest Canadian I know, Mrs. Charlotte Stone.

Her mad bread baking skills

Ok, how good does this look?  Does avocado make you drool just thinking about it? Me too.  This is mashed avocado, lemon juice, salt and pepper, and a dash of red pepper flakes.  Divine.  And when you have it on freshly baked bread it’s even better.

Everyone who visits Charlotte and Steve freaks out over their refrigerator, including myself.  I want.

Fresh organic veggies and fruit about to be juiced

Limones

Steve leafing through the celery and beets

Delicious

The beginning stage of the baked eggs with a little bit of butter and heavy cream.

Top the cream and butter with arrabbiata sauce.

Fold in two eggs per dish

And then top it off with more arrabiatta sauce

Broil for a few minutes in the oven.  The eggs should be baked, meaning they will be slightly runny.  Throw in some fresh basil and feta cheese and you have a tasty egg dish ready to be devoured.  Dying for round #2 over here.  Thanks to C & S for this one.