Usually when I take a trip somewhere there are a hundred things I want to do, see, eat, etc.  One of the great things about my trip to Big Sur was that there was no rush.  We had a very small agenda that mostly consisted of taking in the views and exploring nature.  We had a sunset drink at Post Ranch Inn and saw some deer and marveled at the changing colors of the sky.  It was one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen and made me think about all of the endless possibilities life has to offer.  Then there was our charmingly rustic hotel, Deetjen’s Big Sur Inn.  Full of magic and history, this is definitely the spot to stay.  You can feel the energy of all who have come and gone, those adventurous souls just passing through.  I can’t stop thinking about it.

The drive up to Post Ranch Inn.  The light shining on the hills was so beautiful.

My friends

The beginning of sunset, right into the ocean

The sky was on fire.

Beyond words.

Winding road through the redwoods

Loooved this tree trunk chair

Mosaic art

The dining area at Deetjen’s is quite possibly the coziest dining room ever.

I woke up early and sat in the dining room with my coffee and my book.  I won’t even get into the details of Patti Smith’s Just Kids. That would require a whole separate post.  She’s a true original, that one.  And it’s one of the most beautiful, inspiring books of love, friendship and loyalty.  Tears.

This was the most peaceful spot and it was located right outside our door.

There were dozens of guestbooks in our room that dated way back.  We of course had to make our mark.

Lovely ladybugs

Leaving my spot, The House of Cats