I went to San Francisco a few weeks ago and ate my face off, which is the norm each time I visit.  The weather was 75 degrees the entire time and it was pure heaven.  Warm weather + good food = happy girl.  I have spent a lot of time in the Bay Area so I always get a serious case of nostalgia when I leave.  San Francisco is one of those cities that has a good attitude and people are there because they want to be, not because it’s where the work is or because they’re trying to make it or get ahead in the big city.  It’s progressive, thoughtful, absolutely charming, and full of all kinds of interesting characters with a story to tell.  There’s a lot of history there and I love it with all my heart.  This time around I took a few snapshots of food because, you know, all I ever want to do is eat and what better place to do that than the city that’s known for delicious meals.

Breakfast sandwich with egg, avocado, cheese and tomato at La Boulange down the street from where I stay in Hayes Valley.

Sitting at the counter at Delfina Pizzeria to eat pizza is the jam.  I don’t care how trendy this place is, the tomato sauce is the stuff dreams are made of. There are some secret pizza spots in SF that are great, too, but Delfina has my heart.

Pizza with hen of the woods mushrooms YUM.  I also got a side of their tomato sauce for dipping purposes.

My lovely friend Avril took me to Wayfare Tavern, a new spot in the financial district that reminded me of the east coast.  Good wine.

It’s so inspiring to see the chefs and cooks making the magic happen in the kitchen.

Gorgeous flower arrangement

I went to have lunch at Bar Bambino in the Mission for the first time and later realized that it’s more of a dinner and wine spot.  Super cute, but after having lots of wine the night before I wanted a big bowl of hearty pasta and instead I got this…

Needless to say I was still hungry so I ate this up then went to Hayes Valley and devoured some sushi.

I stayed my last night in Berkeley with family and we went to Five and started off with some of the most delicious mac-and-cheese I’ve ever tasted.  It was made with orzo and smoked gouda, then topped with tomato sauce and mushrooms.  Insane.