I’m a firm believer that one can never have too many books.  Darryl and I often talk about our ideal bookshelves and how they should be constructed in order to hold our growing collection.  Our current living situation will not allow for more book storage, but that hasn’t stopped me for indulging in a few more art, fashion, and design tomes.  Here’s a taste of what’s on my list right now.

Balenciaga and Spain – really excited for this one and really excited to pick it up in a couple of weeks at the current exhibit at the de Young Museum in San Francisco

Patti Smith 1969 – 1976. Patti is my hero.  Words cannot describe how much I look up to this trailblazing woman.

A Perfectly Kept House is the Sign of a Misspent Life by Mary Randolph Carter. What a great title!  MRC is the longtime creative director at Ralph Lauren and you might remember her office from The Selby.

Encyclopedia of the Exquisite, An Anecdotal History of Elegant Delights. I’m pretty sure I read about this book in Vogue and immediately looked it up.  It’s about finding the beauty in things and becoming enamored with the unexpected.

Ok, so this belongs in the food category but I had to include it because sandwiches are my jam.  My friend Mitzi had me over for a caramelized onion and gruyere melt that she borrowed from this book, ‘wichcraft.  I flipped through it and freaked.

Have you seen The King’s Speech? Did you see the wall that was in Geoffrey Rush’s office?!  Mild heart attack.  I’m hoping this book will unveil the process of achieving a wall just like that one.

I looove scrapbooks of all kinds and I’m certain I wouldn’t be mad at Cecil Beaton’s. I really need this. Cecil Beaton, I love you.

This is a reprint edition and I’m pretty sure I could learn a thing or two from this. 5,000 years?  Amazing.