It’s been a trip full of adventures and sadly I am leaving in a couple of days for one last dinner with friends in Paris before I head back to Los Angeles.  But all good trips must come to an end, and I must say that I’m happy to go home to my husband and my friends.  Since my last post, I’ve gone to a cave in the village of Immouzer (the foothills of the High Atlas) to look for textiles, a co-op in Sefrou (south of Fez) to watch artisans work on their handicrafts, the hammam to get an argan oil scrub for the second time, and to a world of bread and pastries aka any place on the street that sells Moroccan desserts and malawi, a flat doughy bread made with tons of olive oil.  I’m sad to leave Nina and her girls but I know that I’ll be back soon for another adventure in this awe-inspiring country.  Morocco is filled with so much beauty, and I’m lucky to have had a small taste of what it has to offer which is a culture filled with kind and welcoming people who work hard and appreciate life.  If you ever get the chance to visit, I strongly recommend it.  It’s life changing.  Until next time…

Hanging out at our friend’s shop picking out slippers

Oh my gosh.  This is a hole in the wall spot that serves up the most fattening yet delicious breakfast/snack I’ve had in Fez.  It consists of potato fritters, fresh cut fries, a lightly scrambled egg and cheese.  It’s served inside bread and topped with hot sauce.  So scandalous.

Some of Nina’s friends took us to the foothills of the High Atlas where we popped in and out of co-ops and caves to search for textiles.  It was one of the most incredible experiences of my life, being in a cave that belonged to a woman who must have been in her 80’s or 90’s and who had been making carpets and textiles to earn a living.  Her daughter passed away and she has been raising her seven grandchildren in the village of Immouzer.

Walking the streets of Immouzer I spotted this little guy

We visited a co-op that was also an elementary school.  Cute overload.

This shop in Immouzer makes striped wool blankets with poms poms on the end.  I wanted one sooo bad but I’ve already done enough damage in the blanket/rug arena.

One of the guys weaving a blanket

We stopped for a veggie tagine

I couldn’t resist.

Cassi and Nina coffee break

Our friend Idress is an herbalist and this is his shop filled with rose water, teas, oils and herbs.

This was in Sefrou where we went to visit some co-ops.  Walking down the sidewalks was one beautiful discovery after the other.

Love the colors

Bright yarns hanging from a shop sign

This particular co-op focused on ceramics.  This kid was smoothing out the clay by walking and stomping all over it.  They were all so happy to have visitors admiring their work.

Painting ceramic cups

This man spends all day weaving rugs at the co-op.  He made me melt.

I loved this co-op of women making necklaces made from caftan buttons.  So creative and inspiring!

Our friend Yunis with one of the girls in the co-op

Leaving Sefrou

Cassi and I

I wanted to end this post with a photo of Noura, Nina’s housekeeper/nanny who is so very lovely.  Even though there was a language barrier, I felt a special bond with her.  She came over one morning and gifted me with a beautiful caftan that she was going to wear to her wedding (it ended up not happening) and I thought it was the most generous and loving gesture.