My good friends Charlotte and Steve invited me over for dinner last night and upon my arrival I learned that Charlotte was going to be serving up Indian chapati, a recipe she learned from Ruta Kahati’s 5 spices, 50 dishes cookbook.  I was introduced to Ruta by my friend Nina a couple of years ago and learned of her Indian cookbook that had garnered rave reviews.  Her and her husband along with their two adorable daughters Mira and Lola left California to go back to their native India (Goa, to be exact) right around the time we met, where Ruta is working on her second cookbook.  At the suggestion of Nina, Charlotte (being the ridiculously amazing cook that she is) bought 5 spices, 50 dishes recently and has been cooking from it non-stop. Simple, hearty, and scrumptious recipes fill the pages, like the chapati below.

The vegetarian yummy-ness that sits alongside (or inside) the chapati.

Charlotte flattening out to dough for the chapati.  Chapati is basically a type of Indian flat bread and is the perfect accompaniment to Indian food.

The dough is brushed with butter and then placed in a pan and cooked lightly on each side, kind of like a tortilla.

Then it’s transferred directly onto the stovetop flame until it magically poofs up on each side.  So fun to watch!

And of course it wouldn’t be the same without a yogurt sauce, right?  We also added a carrot mixture and chutney.

Super duper bomb diggity.  I ate two.

Charlotte also whipped up a dessert from Ruta’s cookbook but moderated a bit due to lack of ingredients.  It was a yogurt concoction mixed with cardamom and saffron and topped with pistachios.  Cardamom and pistachios are two of my favorite things in life.

Pretty pink peonies

Cozy backyard dinner.  I’m so happy that D and I will be petsitting for them this weekend, because this is where I’ll be spending a lot of time.

How amazing are Charlotte’s Bernhard Willhelm x Camper sandals?

Homegirl made these macrame pot holders.  LOVE.

Steve’s lovers.