I don’t know about you, but I get pretty overwhelmed with how many things there are to read, both online and in print.  I find it difficult to keep up with all the great things that are happening in the design, fashion, art, interiors, food, travel, music and literary worlds, and I truly believe that there are a lot of great things transpiring even in this incredibly difficult and uncertain economy.  I specifically name those eight topics because those are the ones that really give me the creative fuel I need to get inspired, to work, and to be more efficient and well-rounded in my life.  But as difficult as it is to keep up I still manage to absorb and digest a significant amount of cultural ideas, references, views, and just plain beautiful images and words.  With that being said, I’ve decided to do a post every Friday dedicated to some of my findings that have really struck a chord and resonated with me during the week, those things that have made a mark, leaving a visible trace, if you will, in hopes that you’ll be inspired as well.  On a side note, I’m happy to be included in Joslyn’s Blogger’s Favorites over on her blog Simple Lovely.

I just read a very inspiring piece on French designer Agnès B in the September issue of Vanity Fair and I highly recommend it for anyone who runs their own business (although it’s still a great read for anyone who is creative).  I have always admired her simple sensibility and the fact that she strays from what’s trendy in the fashion world.  Aside from being a successful designer, she’s a philanthropist who is committed to the environment and health and is a major supporter of artists, both known and unknown.

This image in the August issue of Vogue of Virginie Mouzat, Fashion Director of French newspaper Le Figaro.  A little undone but completely chic in a Cèline shirt and heels.

I’m a huge fan of the jewelry line Anndra Neen and the inspiration behind it. Couture Lab is now featuring jewelry by Phoebe and Annette Stephens, the sisters behind Anndra Neen.  Their artful creations are inspired by their grandmother who was a painter and sculptor in Mexico City.  Looking at their jewelry gives me an instant desire to create.

One of my best friends who lives in New York just gave birth to Penelope Lou and I am so moved by her whole experience.  In her words: “I’m in over my head but I’m over the moon.”

I went to see Deerhunter play this week and I loved every second of it.  Loud and intense, in the most beautiful way.  This is my favorite song, Helicopter, from their album titled Halcyon Digest.  I’m listening to it on repeat all week.  (By the way, this album really is one of the best of 2010).

Mario Testino was the photographer at Kate Moss and Jamie Hince’s wedding and Vogue has exclusive photos in the September issue.  This is one of the sexiest photos I’ve ever seen.  Every time I look at it I think of Mick Jagger and Anita Pallenberg in the sixties, which is probably the best compliment ever.