September is like a new year for me.  Things start to shift, work starts to build up, new opportunities present themselves, and a new season begins.  It makes me feel good, like I’m on fire creatively and am ready to take on whatever comes my way. Making that feeling last can be a challenge, but I’m determined to keep it going. This week seemed to throw all kinds of interesting things my way when it comes to inspiration and creativity.  The five below really stuck with me.  Hope all of you have a lovely weekend.  xo Joanna

There are so many books coming out this fall and this is definitely one I have my heart set on.  Diana Vreeland: The Eye Has to Travel pays homage to the legendary Harper’s Bazaar editor from 1936 to 1962, Diana Vreeland.  To say that Vreeland was an eccentric with a passionate love for fashion would be an understatement.   Her willingness to think outside the norm, ideas, and unconventional way of approaching both fashion and culture were revolutionary to the publishing industry. I admire her very much and am interested to see what sits behind this cover, put together by Lisa Immordino Vreeland who is married to one of Diana’s sons.

I kicked myself for not going to see the Nick Cave exhibit in LA last year.  But I was beyond excited to find out that his amazing Soundsuits will be on display in a show at Mary Boone Gallery while I’m in New York next month.  For Now will feature new work and will be “an open playground of the artist’s daring and iconic Soundsuits – hybrid sculptural forms based on the scale of the artist’s body.”

John Carter Cash, the son of Johnny Cash and June Carter spent years cataloging photos and various ephemera from their lives to put together a scrapbook telling the story of his home life, appropriately titled House of Cash.  This is a poem that Johnny wrote to June, and it made me melt when I read it.  See more here.

My friend Heather just launched a new web series that she has been working on for quite some time.  It’s pretty inspiring, peeps, and I’m in constant awe of her ambition and dedication.  She’s major, that one.

I’m gearing up for a family reunion in Mexico City come November and I’ve been using a good amount of brain power to do some research and figure out the logistics of everything.  Aside from the 3-day rager (my family knows how to throw down),  I’ll be traveling to some little villages outside the city and meeting with artisans.  I’ve been looking at these two images non-stop for inspiration.