I was having a conversation with my good friend Michael the other night about how hard it can be for us to get turned on to new music. I was telling him that I’m a very nostalgic person and one of the biggest defining moments in my life was discovering new wave music at my cousin’s house in her bedroom when I was in elementary school, and for some reason that feeling of discovery is so associated with that type of music so it can be difficult for me to branch out.  Don’t get me wrong, I like a variety of genres and there are many great bands that have come around since then that I adore, but it’s just not the same.  Michael is in his 60’s and built his career in music, creating the annual Los Angeles street fair known as Sunset Junction that had been happening for over 30 years until it was sadly put to rest this August.  He has a very special place in his heart for old soul and R & B (and is THE biggest Diana Ross and The Supremes fan in the whole wide world, I am certain), so while we were hanging out and chatting he busted out some of his Phoebe Snow, Dee Dee Sharp and old school R & B and we just sat, listened, and took it all in.  I will never forget it.  Anyway, what I wanted to say is that every once in a while along comes a singer or musician who really captivates me and takes me away into some epic musical universe where I am completely taken over by emotion. Antony Hegarty of Antony and the Johnsons is one of those.  His voice is romantically haunting in the most beautiful way and he has this sense of vulnerability when he’s singing that is so endearing.  He pours himself into his lyrics and when he sings it’s as if his soul is radiating a big beam of white light.  I love him.  (If you’ve never seen the Leonard Cohen documentary where he covers If It Be Your Will you should check it out here – it’s good stuff.)  So today I was reminded of these amazing collages on Nowness and found out that they were created by Antony for his album, Swanlights.  The collages are part of a 144-page art book that was released with the album in October 2010, and I remember making a mental note of it but somewhere along the way I spaced out and completely forgot about it.  I’m really looking forward to exploring both the book and the album, which Antony talks about on Nowness here.