It’s been a busy week of traveling, and Simone and I are working on some seriously beautiful Journal Entries for the coming weeks, so stay tuned.  In the meantime, I figured I’d start this Monday off with something that’s been on the brain lately.  I have been thinking about writing this blog entry for a while now but couldn’t decide if I really wanted to dive into the critiquing aspect of fashion, which is kind of what this is.  However, this weekend something happened that made me want to type and type and type, all about Isabel Marant.  On my first trip to Paris five years ago, I was introduced to the world of Isabel Marant by my very dear American friend who had been living there for a few years.  At the time, there was only one Isabel shop (now there are a few) and upon walking in I immediately felt like I was where I wanted to be.  It was the first time I had seen clothing that was a little nomadic, a little sexy, folk-inspired, and completely romantic without looking like it was borrowed entirely from the past. There was a modernity to it, and each piece felt so unique and special and I coveted nearly everything.  I left with a blouse that I still wear the hell out of to this day.  I know the wispy cotton will eventually start to shred, but I don’t care.  It’s a piece of clothing that is completely timeless and gets more beautiful with age – how can you beat that?  Since that trip I’ve built up a small collection of Isabel pieces that I am in love with.  But in the past year, I must say I haven’t coveted her collections like I used to.  I understand that a label needs to grow, explore, change, etc., but I started to feel like everything was starting to look a little too young and a little too trendy. But that doesn’t go without saying that there have been a few things here and there that I have picked up along the way that I’m completely smitten with; it’s just that the love was starting to fade, especially as the Isabel Marant craze was starting to build here in the states.  Funny thing is, when I was in Paris last May I was given an invite to an Isabel private sale and my lovely friend (mentioned above) had zero desire to go. In her words, “I’m so tired of seeing every girl in Paris wearing her clothes.”  I went to the sale and it is true – every girl in Paris is wearing Isabel Marant. So I get the turn off, believe me.  But you better believe I scored on the sexiest pair of buckled wedges ever.  Anyway, my point is, Isabel Marant is a big deal now.  She’s a success, and an American success at that so of course there will be some saturation and you’ll probably see many girls wearing her things.  But just as soon as the appeal starts to fade, she comes back full force with a standout collection like the one below for S/S 2012.  The folkloric, bohemian, sexy yet understated Isabel girl is back.  The Isabel I love.  The Isabel I covet.  Those sweaters?  Absolute insanity and you can bet one of them is going on my wish list.  The embellishments, embroidery, the patchwork, the ease, and the effortless beauty – it’s all working for me.  It’s not revolutionary or intellectual, and I like that.  Isabel Marant makes clothes that women want to wear – that’s all there is to it.   And I guess I must have been having some kind of psychic connection with the Isabel I love, because look at what I scored at the flea market one month ago. The perfect vintage faded blue sweatshirt with a bright red 32 that I’ll be rocking like crazy this fall with just about everything in my wardrobe.

Images from Style.com