Hello from NYC!  I seem to take the heat with me wherever I go, because it’s 80 degrees here in the city and the sun is shining.  But as much as I love New York, I’ve been craving a trip somewhere that’s a little unfamiliar to me, and I’m not the only one.  Simone and I have been dreaming about traveling to India (neither of us have been!) and taking in some serious color and textile inspiration.  Perhaps an introduction to some block printing techniques, or to punjabi embroidery?  Last week in the studio we fantasized about all things India and pulled out our Indian goodies including embellishments, embroidery, jewelry and prints.  We found inspiration in an old issue of Vogue with a celebratory group of women dancing in beautiful pink dresses, all with gleaming smiles.  It made us happy, and piqued our interest even further.  It’s been at the top of our travel wish list for a very long time, and we’re hoping that wish comes true next year.  See the making of Joanna & Simone 10.10.11 – Dreaming of India below and on Simone’s blog here

Magazine tear, Indian wood block, Indian textiles from Kneeland Co., mirrored bracelets from India, vintage yellow silk fabric, vintage embellished belt, chandelier earrings from India, vintage patchwork fabric, fabric necklaces, rhinestone and bead necklace