There are two men that share the same name and coincidentally sit high at the top of my list of those whom I admire.  Nick Cave the musician and Nick Cave the artist, and I’m so happy to now be able to say that I have seen both of their work up close and personal. I saw the musician perform at The Hollywood Bowl a few years back and it was one of the top 5 shows I have ever been to (yes, I usually rank my shows).  I kicked myself for not going to see the exhibition by Nick Cave the artist at UCLA a couple of years ago.  I really have no excuse except that UCLA is far from where I live – that’s a bad excuse!  Anyway, one of my priorities was to check out his For Now exhibit at the Mary Boone Gallery while I was in New York a couple of weeks ago.  I woke up early, got some tea, and cabbed it to Chelsea to arrive at 10 a.m. before I had to catch an afternoon flight back to LA.  It was the most stimulating Saturday I’ve had in quite some time.  If you’ve never heard of Nick Cave’s Soundsuits, you’re in for a major treat.  For Now focuses on his Soundsuits – “hybrid sculptural forms based on the scale of the artist’s body.  The Soundsuits camouflage and amplify the body, creating an exuberant skin that conceals race, gender and class.”  Textiles, stuffed animals, beadwork, wood, and all kinds of raw and manufactured materials are used to create what Cave calls a “psychedelic, functified freak show that is an accumulation of the decades from the perspective of voodoo woo-loo.”  How insanely amazing is that?!  I kind of felt like I was at a rave, with the kaleidoscope of colors acting as the techno, and all the fabrics and shimmer and stuffed animals acting as club kids.  It was beyond inspiring and I kept wondering how long it took to construct just one of the Soundsuits.  They were all so imaginative and metaphorical, and I couldn’t help but fantasize having a conversation with Nick Cave followed by him wearing one of his Soundsuits as he normally does in his performance art.  If you’re in New York, I recommend seeing this incredible exhibit.  Below, a few snaps.