It’s been a cool week, and the weekend is about to get even cooler with my brother-in-law and his wife visiting from Turkey. Adventures await us, and in between those adventures will be some reading, movie watching, and flea market shopping.  I hope all of you have an awesome weekend!  Below, some things I got excited about over the past few days.

So excited for this new book from Thames & Hudson, Textiles: The Whole Story: Uses, Meanings, Significance.  Both historic and contemporary textiles are covered in this book with 350 illustrations and a discussion about how fabrics have been worn and used throughout history.  There are few comprehensive books about textiles, and this one looks like it’s going to be a gem.  (On a side note, if you’re looking for a book with thorough coverage of textiles I recommend this one).

Have you seen Style.com’s Behind the Scenes videos with a few of their editors?  This one with Tim Blanks is really inspiring.  I love his attitude and his need to “communicate enthusiasm”.  I recommend all the Behind the Scenes vidz.

Bernadette Pascua and Andrew Stinson’s home featured on Design Sponge – the absolute perfect mix of quiet, chic, and lived in. Bernadette’s blog, Decade Diary, has always been one of my favorites.  Pure, subtle beauty and very, very cool.  She is a supremely talented illustrator and I’m so thrilled to see all of the amazing work she’s been doing.  Her home seems very her.  

I’m looking forward to next week when I get to check out Fivestory, the new multilevel luxury boutique in NYC that will be carrying home wares and clothing by international designers never before sold in the U.S. along with exclusive collaborations between the shop and NYC-based designers.  I have a feeling the accessory department is going to be pretty stellar. Images from Vogue

Last night I was reading T Magazine‘s blog and flipped out over this story about Christian Astuguevieille and his home in Bayonne, France.  Christian is the kind of person I would love to sit and converse with for hours and spend days creating magical things with. He is an art director for both fashion and fragrance houses, a sculptor, a furniture designer, jewelry and object designer, and the man behind the creation of fragrances for Comme des Garçons.  He refuses to “pigeonhole” himself into one career, and I love that. Inspired by the Japanese techniques of wabi-sabi and furoshiki, he wraps objects in various cords and rope to “mystify” things. “Altering and deforming the original use of things is important to me,” says Astuguevieille.  “I am, essentially, a teacher.  I’m never interested in beauty for its own sake.”  You can read more about this incredibly inspiring man here.