It’s been a while since I’ve posted A Visible Trace, but this week has been filled with too many awesome things to skip this time around.  I’m happy to be home for longer than a month and am looking forward to a weekend filled with museum-going, movie watching, and a sibling birthday celebration.  Hope all of you have a dreamy weekend. xo Joanna

I don’t really follow men’s fashion, although I appreciate it just as much as I appreciate women’s fashion.  But when I caught a glimpse of the men’s Prada A/W 2012 show I was mesmerized by what I saw.  Adrien Brody, Willem Dafoe, and Gary Oldman looking both handsome and aristocratic on the runway?  Yes, please.  They are high on my list of creatives when it comes to film, and I couldn’t help but have a congratulatory moment in my head with whomever the casting director was for the show.  I’m guessing Miuccia had something to do with it?  Either way, quite brilliant in my book.

And while we’re on the topic of fashion, I have to declare my love for Jil Sander’s pre-fall collection.  I look at these photos and think of one of my favorite films, Dead Poet’s Society. But this society is pure feminist.  A secret feminist society filled with your closest, most charming girlfriends donning monogrammed dresses and letterman sweaters.  You devour books and contemplate what’s inspiring in life while laughing and telling secrets.  And then there’s the dress and the hooded coat emblazoned with the words Silence and Promise – so devastatingly cool I can barely handle it.

Olympia Le-Tan’s embroidered “book bags” are a work of art that can be carried and shown to the world.  When I read about her paying homage to Italian cinema and books for her project with Pitti in Florence, I expected something smart and beautiful and spot on in her creations. But she went beyond that and completely captured the essence by having a group of friends be photographed as a character in each of the 36 films and books she chose to represent Italy.  I adore this photo of Tilda Swinton as Silvana Mangano in Teorema.  There’s also a cute little video with Olympia Le-Tan talking about the project here.

I am beyond excited x 1,000 to see the upcoming LACMA exhibition, In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States.  I have been waiting for this one and it’s right around the corner.  To see Frida Kahlo’s work displayed next to the work of Leonora Carrington and Louise Bourgeois will be a dream come true.

And lastly, I’m way inspired by these images from the latest Une Fille Un Style on the Vogue Paris website.  So, so good.