My earliest memory of falling in love with fashion dates back to when I was 9-years-old in my bedroom in Pasadena, Texas, where I would take all the clothes out of my closet and price them as if I had a store and was going to sell them.  My grandmother and my mom lived to take me shopping, especially before a new school season started.  I would stock up on every color of Keds to wear with my dresses (dresses only!) and I would don matching bows and ribbons, all from Dillard’s and Foley’s. During those early years, two people had a huge influence on my interests: my older brother who was a late ’80s and early ’90s skater and wore Vans and Powell-Peralta; and my older cousin who lived in Brownsville, Texas, and was the ultimate fashion icon in my eyes with her Louis Vuitton and Krizia.  They both had a penchant for new wave music, and since music and fashion go hand in hand you can bet I was all up in their tapes and records and their clothes.  Ministry, Violent Femmes, Tones on Tail, Thompson Twins, Yaz, the list goes on and on.  It all opened my eyes to so much, and maybe a little too much at times as I trailed in their footsteps with a fake I.D. to go to some of the most amazing clubs that I am certain no club these days could ever replace, with the insanely cool new wavers dressed to kill and dancing as if their lives depended on it.  I was barely even a teenager.  (Sorry, Mom!) But those are the fondest memories I have, of a time when fashion was really having a moment and making a mark on the world.  When MTV was all about The Young Ones and Martha Quinn and Kurt Loder.  It ruled hard.  My summers spent in Brownsville with my cousin, Cassie, had such an impact on my style and was like taking a fashion 101 class.  Cassie and her parents traveled to Europe often and would bring back designer clothes and shoes and I would ooh and ahh over everything.  I learned how to mix and match, and learned what style truly was.  As I got older and made it to junior high and high school, I started to shop vintage at thrift stores.  I had zero money to shop designer, so I would compromise by putting together vintage looks to create something that resembled what designers were creating at the time and just play around by throwing weird things together that I thought were cool.  I became hooked on vintage.  Since then, I have been collecting vintage pieces from everywhere – California, Texas, New York, Paris, and wherever my travels take me.  I love the thrill of the hunt, and there are few things that are more satisfying than coming across something that is so completely me, or something that I can vision beyond the hanger.  The past few weeks I’ve been thinking how fun it would be to photograph some of my collection, so my husband and I did a little photo shoot this past weekend in San Luis Obispo.  I couldn’t think of a better piece to start with than this show stopping ’80s beaded number.  It’s a recent find from San Francisco that I picked up while I was out shopping with my stylish friend Jessica.  She grabbed it off the rack, showed it to me and said, “This one’s for you”,  and I died.  So here you have it, the beginning of the Vintage Series.  I hope you like it.  xo Joanna

Vintage ’80s beaded dress by Swee Lo, Made in India