My husband and I had been talking about starting a music blog together and finally decided on a name a few weeks ago, but when it came time to post an entry nothing actually happened and here’s why:  my husband is a crazy perfectionist and the post he decided to start with would have probably taken him an entire day to do, no joke.  I decided I had no interest in adding additional stress to my life, so we decided to nix the music blog for now.  I had my own idea for a music post, and now my subject keeps popping up randomly here and there so I figured this would be a good time and place to share it.  When I went to see the Jean Paul Gaultier and Suzy Menkes talk at the de Young Museum in San Francisco last month, JPG talked about how influenced he was by Malcolm McLaren and Vivienne Westwood.  McLaren, the music impresario who managed The Sex Pistols, Adam and the Ants and the New York Dolls had a long relationship with Westwood and collaborated with her on collections.  He personified punk rock and paved the way for many artists, and clearly had an impact on underground culture.  Hearing Gaultier mention his name took me back to Paris last May.  I was at the Acne store trying on clothes and hanging out with friends as McLaren’s 1984 12″ single Madame Butterfly started blaring through the speakers.  It was a moment.  (The song is basically an homage to Puccini’s 1904 opera Madame Butterfly.) Then, last week as I was reading the new issue of Apartamento I came across the story Symbolic Space written by Jenna Sutela, which begins with a reference to Madame Butterfly.  I could really relate to these words: “Making people ultimately converse with themselves, music works to clarify different issues, or animate things that are slightly out of reach.  In the same way, a home with a record collection resembles not only a haunted house but also a house of mirrors, reflecting its inhabitant’s way with the world.”  So of course I had to watch the YouTube video of Madame Butterfly for the 112th time, except this time around I picked up something else.  I realized that McLaren’s video reminded me of photographer Deborah Turbeville’s work, specifically from the Bath House series.  It’s all very inspiring, and all very fashionable.  Check it out below.