Six months ago I went to Mexico City for my family reunion and it was one of the most incredible experiences of my life.  I hadn’t been since I was in elementary school, so it was a pretty big deal on many levels.  I got to see the house my mom grew up in, visit family members I had not seen in years or had never even met, celebrate the Kneeland name and much more.  I fell madly in love with the city and I knew I would be back.  A couple of months ago while I was hanging out with my good friend Heather, we started talking about our love for Mexico and within a matter of minutes a Mexico City adventure was in the works.  Flash forward to nearly two weeks ago and we had arrived, ready to take on the hustle and bustle of the big city.  It was business and pleasure for the both of us, and by day 1 we fell into our groove and couldn’t escape the Mexico magic.  We packed it in – from hitting up the markets to having the best lunch ever at Contramar with my family, to wining and dining at our amazing hotel, Condesa D.F., to visiting one of the best museums I’ve ever been to (Museo Nacional de Antropología)  followed by one of the coolest stores I’ve ever been to (Common People) – it was epic, to say the least.  I’m ready to go back.  More from our adventure below, and to read about my last visit to Mexico City click here, here, here and here.

Mexican Tree of Life at the Museo Nacional de Antropología

It was a textile dream at the museum.  I freaked out nearly every minute.

So beautiful.  I also want those braids.

This rope art was INSANE.

Snack attack outside the museum

Super fun loot at Common People.  I loved the colorful wire baskets and need to bring one home next time!

Shopping at the market, extra large pineapple

Virgin de Guadalupe

Beaded necklaces at the shop of one of my favorite vendors

Colorful paper flower explosion

Lunch with my Great Aunt Della and Great Aunt Paulette.  The best.

Celeste Champagne & Tea Room – definitely going back there

I was obsessed with the interiors, including this old lamp.

The outside of our hotel, Condesa D.F.

The dining room at Condesa D.F.

My beautiful friend Heather at the hotel bar

Amazing breakfast spread every morning

I’m not even kidding.  Just looking at this makes me want to go back immediately.  Until next time!  In the mean time, however, you can check out more on Heather’s blog, L.A. in Bloom.