I just got back from a week in New York and I have to say that I think this is the happiest I’ve ever been to be back from my second city.  I’m there every 3 months on business, but summer in the city can be a little brutal with the high temperatures and nasty humidity.  However, there are too many exhilarating things to do and people to see to keep me indoors when I’m not on appointments.  This trip I also celebrated my birthday, and it was so great to spend it with friends I don’t see often. We wined and dined at Bacaro on the Lower East Side, one of my favorites for the cave-like ambience and the fried zucchini blossoms stuffed with ricotta.  I also made my way to Brooklyn to eat the ultimate burger and fries at Diner, one of my forever favorites, and Aita – a new spot in Clinton Hill that served up the most delectable fried oysters benedict with home fries.  And of course, I had to try Prune for the first time which did not disappoint with an open-faced Greek sandwich, a side of fries and a refreshing lemonade made with cayenne pepper and ginger. Perfect for a hot summer day.  And to top it off, I even got to dine at Prune with the supremely talented artist and blogger, Lily Stockman, whom I have been wanting to meet as we’ve been blog buds for a while now.  It was all so lovely. Aside from treating myself to delicious meals, I also took in the Yayoi Kusama exhibit at the Whitney and the Prada/Schiaparelli exhibit at the Met.  Yayoi Kusama’s range of work was a total feast for the eyes, and I couldn’t help but think of how much of an influence she had on punk rock culture.  She truly was avant-garde.  The Prada/Schiaparelli show filled my soul with inspiration and the parallels between the two courageous designers were so obvious up close. Definitely a show to remember, and a trip to remember.

Lunch at Prune

Fried Oysters Benedict at Aita

Burgers, fries and rose’ with Gena at Diner

The remains of a cozy birthday dinner at Bacaro

Yayoi Kusama

Yayoi Kusama

Elsa Schiaparelli bolero with embroidered carnival horses.  To die for.

Wise words from Miuccia

Hanging out with one of my besties, Hollie, and her sweet family – Sean, Max and Penelope

A very special Lionette necklace gifted to me by Hollie.  In major love.