I just returned from a 4-day business trip to Mexico City and I’m already plotting my return. It’s a favorite, friends, and very special to me as a big part of family resides there.  From spending quality time with my aunts and cousins to eating the most delicious tacos and chilaquiles to strolling the streets and marveling at the colonial architecture, it’s always an inspiring lesson that gives me a fresh outlook on life.  In between work, I found time to soak up all the beauty and culture and document some exquisite moments.  I’m forever grateful for my travel experience.

Browsing at the beautiful shop Celeste.

Friendship bracelet explosion

Classic cars are everywhere, especially in the neighborhoods of Roma and Condesa.

Lunch at one of my favorite spots, Contramar.  Tuna sashimi tostadas and crab tostadas.  TO DIE FOR.

Pescado Divorciado, half green and half red sauce

Great Aunt Della and Aunt Paulette with their cocktails.  I aspire to be them.

My Aunt Siobhan and Aunt Jamie

Heading to the market to shop

I totally lost my mind when I found this Frida Kahlo reproduction.  Of course it came home with me.

Pastry selection at Delirio

Fact: Mexican food will never taste the same in the states.  It just can’t be replicated!

Breaded shrimp and squash blossom tacos at El Parnita

“Ladies” bathroom at Rosetta

I am obsessed with all of the colonial style homes and buildings in Mexico City. Many of them have the addresses hand painted near the front door and some are decorated in hand painted flowers.

A mariachi band played at my aunt Claudia’s birthday party.  So good.

The weather was chilly and it rained every day I was there.  On my last day I went to my aunt Siobhan’s rooftop and took a photo of the church across the street where Romeo & Juliet was filmed.  Until next time…xo Joanna