In my early twenties I discovered the designer Susan Cianciolo and felt as if I had found something so beautiful and so pure.  That was about 15 years ago, when fashion was having a real DIY moment that was different from what DIY is today.  There was nothing crafty or cute about it; it was experimental, avant-garde, and really thought through. Susan Cianciolo became a forever idol to me when I was flat broke and working my way through college, going to thrift stores and attempting to deconstruct and put something together that could resemble something as free-spirited and thoughtful as her clothing. This morning I was looking in my inspiration folders and found this breathtaking Hobo Magazine editorial shot by Mark Borthwick with clothes by Susan Cianciolo.  It will always be a favorite and a reminder to keep my creative spirit alive.

mb_0001

mb_0002

mb

mb_0004

mb_0003