I’m on a business trip in Paris right now and all I can think about at this moment is the Dries Van Noten exhibition I saw this afternoon at Les Arts Décoratifs.  The exhibit is focused on Dries’s inspirations for many of his collections for both men and women. Alongside his various collections are paintings, costumes, art ephemera both old and current, vintage clothing by others designers (Balenciaga, Thierry Mugler, Claude Montana, Vivienne Westwood, Schiaparelli and more) and even videos of artisans in India sewing embroideries and embellishments onto garments.  Each section of the exhibit is accompanied by words from Van Noten describing the feeling of certain eras or movements, all thoughtfully and beautifully articulated.  A video of the dancer Pina Bausch was playing near one of his more recent collections, and I remembered that I had this photo from an early issue of Nylon magazine of the model Jamie Bochert wearing a metallic dress while dancing.  It’s always been a favorite, and it makes me want to watch Pina again (or even visit the Dries exhibit one more time).

movement